Danita Curwin on getting her GED: “It was the greatest feeling ever to know at my age I was accomplishing something I never thought I could, or would, do.”

Danita Curwin upgrades her education to find a new purpose in life

Nova Scotia Government
3 min readOct 2, 2019

--

After getting her GED and landing her dream job, the Eastern Shore resident is this year’s Nova Scotia winner of the council of Federation Literacy Award

It’s never too late to follow your dreams. Danita Curwin, the 2019 recipient of the Council of Federation Literacy Award, is proof.

This March, Danita received a GED and started her dream job working with children as an Education Program Assistant. The award, established in 2004 by Canada’s premiers, is presented annually to an adult learner who demonstrates outstanding achievements in literacy, and makes a significant contribution to their school, workplace or community.

As a young woman, Danita left school to focus on family.

“My priority has always been family first. I looked after my family, my kids and a very sick husband.”

Her life was turned upside down in the winter of 2008 when her son, John Curwin, was killed while serving his country in Afghanistan.

“Despite my challenges with grieving and doing my best to manage my own mental health, I continued to work and to provide care to my husband. That is simply what one must do, especially after 37 years of marriage.”

Sadly, Danita’s husband passed away in 2013.

Through all of this, her dedication to her family has never wavered. Then the time came for her to take care of herself. She wanted to do this in a way that would set a positive example for her grandchildren.

“I had to continue to have purpose and I felt a calling in my heart to work with children.”

She started working at a daily school lunch program in Porter’s Lake. That experience led her to work at Excel, an afterschool program.

“This experience gave me the new purpose I was looking for. I am so proud to be a part of such an important program that helps children and their families.”

There was one more step Danita needed to take to achieve her goal of becoming and Education Program Assistant: get her Grade 12 education.

After considering her options, she joined the Eastern Shore Musquodoboit Valley Literacy Network. With tremendous support and encouragement from staff, her dream became a reality.

“It was the greatest feeling ever to know at my age I was accomplishing something I never thought I could, or would, do.”

Danita’s new-found confidence has allowed her to become an active member of her community and start a meaningful career.

“I have learned that education is truly a lifelong learning journey. Life happens, and it is never too late to follow your heart and dreams. I am so glad that I did.”

Adult education programs give Nova Scotians a chance to improve literacy skills and prepare for the workforce or more education.

Nova Scotia School for Adult Learning provides free learning programs to Nova Scotians 19 years and over who have been out of high school for more than a year. The programs are offered in English and French in communities across the province. They include the Nova Scotia High School Graduation Diploma for Adults, General Educational Development (GED) prep courses, and many others.

For more information call 1–877-go-NSSAL (1–877–466–7725) or visit www.goNSSAL.ca.

--

--